just when you thought it wasn’t possible for kristin hersh to get any cooler she does something like start an organization called cash(coalition of artists and stake holders). a place where music is free and free to be remixed. a bit more:

Art is by nature a conversation. I’d like us to make it a community. Think about what you have to offer. Read-only culture is not enough anymore. We’d like you to treat this stuff as read-write. I’d also like to hear your comments on the songs I post each month. I’ll read them all and reply too.

What does read-write mean? Maybe as you’re listening to “Slippershell”, you’re inspired to DO something: paint a picture, write an essay, make a video, remix, or even re-record the song. Please do so. And share your work with me and the rest of the CASH community by uploading it somewhere and sending me a link. I’m offering my Pro Tools mix stems to make it easy to work with my recorded material. We will review all the links submitted, I promise. At some point, I’ll release the songs I post here in the form of a CD. It’s my intention that the CD release should also include lots of the stuff you send me. I think that would be incredible.

What we’re doing today is just the beginning. It is in the nature of a share and share alike community to grow. Gradually, over the next weeks and months CASH Music will be revealing it’s “real” self. Other artists will be involved, the final and fully-capable site will be launched and new features will be added — all incorporating your input and creativity. CASH is a community that in the end will be defined by itself.

it sounds cool, and the first track released by kristin is wonderful. i’ve been out of the loop as far as kristin’s output lately, but this track easily can stand next to the finest of the work she did with throwing muses. this page has some of the remixes people have been doing of that song(i haven’t downloaded any of them yet so i don’t know what they are like). the subscription system seems cool too as a way to give the artists “monetary feedback”. via yip yop.

something else not to be missed is this write up kristin did about going to college with betty hutton(yes, that betty hutton).

